Centre of Excellence

The Centre of Excellence for Autism Spectrum Disorder

Lester B. Pearson School Board

1925 Brookdale, Dorval, QC, H9P 2Y7

The LBPSB Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) Team operates as a Centre of Excellence under MEES (Ministère de l'Éducation, Enseignement supérieur) with a mandate to serve as a resource and provide support to the English School Boards in the province, all of whom are committed to facilitating the inclusion of students with an Autism Spectrum Disorder. To optimally fulfill this mandate, the ASD team functions in a multidisciplinary capacity with the following personnel: Psychologists, Consultant for Inclusive Education, Speech and Language Pathologist, and Consultants for Autism.

Through the Centre of Excellence, the ASD team offers multiple supports to schools that include consultation, direct intervention, and training. More specifically, the team works to provide ongoing training in specific ASD intervention strategies by providing suggestions around individual cases, organizing and delivering professional development, and maintaining a professional library and website in the area of autism. Consultation can occur in-person, through school visits, telephone contacts and conferencing, as well as electronic correspondence. Community outreach is also an important aspect of the team’s focus, and members are involved with agencies outside of the education network as well as with families of children with autism. The ASD team has worked particularly hard to establish partnerships with local hospitals and universities with respect to more clinical and research aspects of autism. 

 

Contact our Team

Patty Cloran *
Coordinator
514-422-3000 ext. 32466
pcloran@lbpsb.qc.ca

Dr. Andrew Bennett, PhD
Coordinator
Clinical Psychologist
514-422-3000 local 32446
abennett@lbpsb.qc.ca

Patricia Assouad
Consultant for Autism
514-422-3000 local 32405
passouad@lbpsb.qc.ca

Katie Cohene
Consultant for Autism
514-422-3000 ext. 32433
kcohene@lbpsb.qc.ca

Datévig Etyemezian
Consultant for Autism
514-422-3000 local 32408
detyemezian@lbpsb.qc.ca

Sabrina Gabriele
Consultant for Autism
514-422-3000 local 32434
sgabriele@lbpsb.qc.ca

Jade Lawsane
Consultant for Autism
514-422-3000 ext. 32409
jlawsane@lbpsb.qc.ca

Helene Packman
Speech and Language Pathologist
514-422-3000 local 32484
hpackman@lbpsb.qc.ca

Dr. Amira Rahman, PhD
Psychologist
514-422-3000 local 32462
arahman02@lbpsb.qc.ca

*For any requests of services or information about the Centre,
please contact Patty Cloran.

 

The Six Centres of Excellence

MEES has delegated six Centres of Excellence that operate with a mandate to serve as a resource and provide support to the English School Boards in the province of Quebec, all of whom are committed to facilitating the inclusion of students with an exceptionality. These include:

Centre of Excellence for Autism Spectrum Disorder
Lester B. Pearson School Board
Andrew Bennett and Patty Cloran, coordinators

Centre of Excellence for Mental Health
Lester B. Pearson School Board
Elana Bloom and Gerry Weintraub, coordinators

Centre of Excellence for Behaviour Management
Riverside School Board
Eva de Gosztonyi and Martine Demers, coordinators

Centre of Excellence for Speech and Language Development
English Montreal School Board
Carol Jazzar and Karina Ismail, coordinators

Centre of Excellence for the Physically, Intellectually and Multi-Challenged
Eastern Township School Board

Inclusive Learning Resource Network (I-LRN)
Riverside School Board
Lynn Senecal, coordinator  

 

Top